HSPT, ISEE or SSAT: which Orange County private high schools require which entrance exam?

As of October 2026. Every number below is sourced; the list is at the end.

Most Orange County families only need to learn one of these exams. As of October 2026, our entrance-exam bank covers 7 private and Catholic high schools in Orange County. 5 of them use the HSPT. One, Sage Hill School, takes the ISEE or the SSAT. One, Orange Lutheran, needs no entrance exam to get in. We checked the bank in September 2026 for the Fall 2027 cycle. Dates move every year. The school's own page is the one that counts.

The Orange County table

SchoolCityExamDeadline as statedTest dates as stated
JSerra CatholicSan Juan CapistranoHSPTNov. 1 early decisionJan. 9 or Feb. 6, 2027; portal sign-up, limited seats
Mater DeiSanta AnaHSPTNot stated on the exam pageJan. 16, Jan. 21 and Jan. 30, 2027
Orange LutheranOrangeNoneJan. 15 regular decisionPlacement test only, late January
Rosary AcademyFullertonHSPTNot stated on the HSPT pageJan. 16, 2027; make-up Jan. 23
Sage HillNewport CoastISEE or SSATJan. 31You pick the date; scores due by Jan. 31
Santa Margarita CatholicRancho Santa MargaritaHSPTNot stated on the test pageJan. 16, Jan. 20 and Jan. 30, 2027
ServiteAnaheimHSPTDec. 4, 2026 early; Feb. 5, 2027 regularJan. 23 and Feb. 6, 2027

Two notes. Mater Dei says its $80 application fee covers the entrance exam. You pay it up front. Rosary signs up ninth-grade applicants for the HSPT itself. Three schools print test dates but no deadline. The column says so rather than guess.

Read the row, then read the page.

These are three different exams

The HSPT is a Catholic high school placement exam. The schools above give it on their own campus on a set Saturday. Your student sits it once. The ISEE and the SSAT work the other way. You sign up with the testing group. You pick your own date. You have the score sent with a school code. Sage Hill lists 054282 for the ISEE and 7039 for the SSAT. The two paths run on different calendars.

Sitting the wrong one is wasted work.

If you are also looking at Pasadena or Claremont

Flintridge Preparatory in La Canada Flintridge takes the ISEE or the SSAT. It held a paper ISEE on Saturday, December 5, 2026. Scores were due January 20, 2027. Polytechnic School in Pasadena gives its own Upper School test. You book it through its admission portal. The Webb Schools in Claremont need no entrance exam. Applications are due January 15, 2027.

Three nearby schools, three different answers.

How much prep this takes

We use the same rule here as for the SAT or ACT. Plan on 6 to 12 weeks. A seventh or eighth grader has homework and a sport. Spread the work out. Find the test date first. Then count backward. We prep the HSPT and the ISEE one-on-one across Orange County, in your home, or online.

Two weeks is not a plan.

The move

This month, open the admissions page for each school on your list. Write down two things: which exam, and the date. Check them against the full table at highschoolreach.com/entrance-exams. If a date there disagrees with ours, the school's page wins. Then call us and we will build the weeks backward. Every program starts with two free diagnostic tests, one ACT and one SAT. An older student knows which exam fits before you spend anything: prepgurus.com/frequently-asked-questions or 949.229.5359.

Questions parents ask

Does my child have to take both the HSPT and the ISEE?

Only if your list mixes the two kinds of school. Of the 7 Orange County schools we track, 5 use the HSPT and only Sage Hill takes the ISEE or SSAT, so most families prepare for one exam.

Which Orange County private high school has no entrance exam?

Orange Lutheran in Orange requires no entrance exam to be admitted. Its page lists a placement test in late January, not an entrance exam.

How early should we start preparing for the HSPT?

Plan on 6 to 12 weeks, counted backward from the test date on the school's page. Several Orange County schools test on January 16, 2027, which puts the start in the fall.

Written by Nick Standlea, founder of Test Prep Gurus. Updated October 2026.

Sources